

Table of Contents

		<u>Page</u>
1	Introduction	iii
2	Explanation of District Profile Data	iv
3	Congressional Districts County Component List	V





CO-CHAIRMEN Senator Michael F. Nozzolio Assemblyman Marcos A. Crespo

NEW YORK STATE LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE ON DEMOGRAPHIC RESEARCH AND REAPPORTIONMENT

250 Broadway-21st Floor New York, New York 10007-2563

> (212) 618-1100 FAX (212) 618-1135

MEMBERS

Senator Martin Malavé Dilan Assemblyman Robert Oaks Roman B. Hedges Welquis R. Lopez

CO-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS

Debra A. Levine Karen Blatt

March, 2015

On March 15, 2012, the Governor signed into law a Senate and Assembly redistricting plan that had passed both houses of the Legislature after a series of 23 statewide public hearings. The plans were then submitted to the United States Justice Department for preclearance under Section 5 of the Federal Voting Rights Act, that affects three counties (Bronx, Kings, and New York).

On March 19, 2012, a three-judge panel (U. S. District Court for the Eastern District of New York) imposed a 2012 Congressional redistricting plan for New York State. Due to the Federal Court's authority, the redistricting plan did not have to be signed into law.

The Legislature, with the assistance of the Legislative Task Force on Demographic Research and Reapportionment, continues to make the redistricting process open and accessible, and is very gratified by the exceptional level of public input from a broad cross-section of communities.

In continuing our effort to keep the public informed, we believe that this series of legislative publications completes the 2012 New York State legislative and congressional redistricting process.

Again, thank you for contributing your time, energy, and insights to this historic, once-in-a-decade responsibility.

Senator Michael F. Nozzolio

Co-Chairman

Debra A. Levine Co-Executive Director Sincerely,

Assemblyman Marcos A. Crespo

Co-Chairman

Karen Blatt Co-Executive Director





NEW YORK STATE LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE ON DEMOGRAPHIC RESEARCH AND REAPPORTIONMENT

250 Broadway-21st Floor New York, New York 10007-2563 (212) 618-1100 FAX (212) 618-1135

MEMBERS

Senator Martin Malavé Dilan Assemblyman Robert Oaks Roman B. Hedges Welquis R. Lopez

CO-EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS

Debra A. Levine Karen Blatt

Explanation of District Profile Data

The American Community Survey

The U. S. Census Bureau created the American Community Survey (ACS) to replace the long-form (detailed) questionnaire used during prior decennial censuses. The 2012 Congressional District Profiles are based on the ACS 2008–2012 5-year estimates dataset released by the Census Bureau in December, 2013.

The decennial census is a complete (100%) count of the U. S. population. In contrast, the Census Bureau selects a random sample of addresses (rather than persons) each year for ACS inclusion. Estimates based on a sample (ACS data) will differ from true figures based on a population (decennial-census data). The larger the sample, the smaller the difference (the "margin of error" in statistical terms).

Congressional Districts County Component List

District 1 District 2	Suffolk (part) Nassau (part)	District 18	Dutchess (part) Orange	District 22	Broome (part) Chenango	District 27	Erie (part) Genesee
	Suffolk (part)		Putnam		Cortland		Livingston
District 3	Nassau (part)		Westchester (part)		Herkimer (part)		Monroe (part)
	Queens (part)	District 19	Broome (part)		Madison		Niagara (part)
	Suffolk (part)		Columbia		Oneida		Ontario (part)
District 4	Nassau (part)		Delaware		Oswego (part)		Orleans
District 5	Nassau (part)		Dutchess (part)		Tioga (part)		Wyoming
	Queens (part)		Greene	District 23	Allegany		
District 6	Queens (part)		Montgomery (part)		Cattaraugus		
District 7	Kings (part)		Otsego		Chautauqua		
	New York (part)		Rensselaer (part)		Chemung		
	Queens (part)		Schoharie		Ontario (part)		
District 8	Kings (part)		Sullivan		Schuyler		
	Queens (part)		Ulster		Seneca		
District 9	Kings (part)	District 20	Albany		Steuben		
District 10	Kings (part)		Montgomery (part)		Tioga (part)		
	New York (part)		Rensselaer (part)		Tompkins		
District 11	Kings (part)		Saratoga (part)		Yates		
	Richmond		Schenectady	District 24	Cayuga		
District 12	Kings (part)	District 21	Clinton		Onondaga		
	New York (part)		Essex		Oswego (part)		
	Queens (part)		Franklin		Wayne		
District 13	Bronx (part)		Fulton	District 25	Monroe (part)		
	New York (part)		Hamilton	District 26	Erie (part)		
District 14	Bronx (part)		Herkimer (part)		Niagara (part)		
	Queens (part)		Jefferson				
District 15	Bronx (part)		Lewis				
District 16	Bronx (part)		St. Lawrence				
	Westchester (part)		Saratoga (part)				
District 17	Rockland		Warren				
	Westchester (part)		Washington				